Mental Health

My Experience Of Post Natal Depression

I haven’t written anything personal or meaningful in quite a while now. I’ll be honest it is because there is one post I have been wanting to write and I just haven’t been able to bring myself to. It has quite literally been sat in my drafts for about 6 months. I finally feel now I am at a place I can write about it and not feel ashamed of how I really felt.

A lot of the time when people think of depression, they instantly think of sadness. For me, and for a few others, it isn’t at all about sadness. It’s an emptiness. It wasn’t until I sought help for my own mental health that I realised just how empty I felt and how bad I had gotten. I felt nothing.

It took a few months before I realised for myself that I needed to seek some help. I reached a state of hopelessness and the thoughts I was having were taking over my life. I wasn’t having suicidal thoughts but I was thinking about leaving Luke and my children as I honestly thought they would be better without me. I thought everyone would be better off without me hanging about and making a mess of things. The first few months of Cassius’ life are a bit of a blur to be honest but I didn’t feel the joy of motherhood that I should of. At every opportunity I put him down. I made any excuse possible to not be near him. The guilt I feel about that now is so strong but I know it wasn’t intentional. I honestly have breastfeeding to thank for the little bond I did develop with him. He took to it almost straight away. He had a great latch and didn’t cause me any pain. I think if I had the latch and pain difficulties I had with Aoife I would of given up this time around because the motivation wasn’t there. I didn’t feel the need to succeed like I did with Aoife. With Cassius it was more a necessity.

I often look back through my phone and feel a pang of sadness at the lack of photos of Cassius in those early days. When Aoife was born I was overcome with love and awe of this tiny baby that was in my life and demanding every second of my attention. I took at least 10 photos a day of her. Cassius it was a chore to even want him near me.

Slowly, I began to realise that something wasn’t right but because literally no one around me questioned these little changes in my personality and behaviour, I began to think it was all in my head and I was blowing my feelings out of proportion! I knew the differences in the way I had treated the children in the first months of their life wasn’t right. I eventually sought help and it was the best thing I did. I was offered anti-depressants and they have been just what I needed.

(For anyone wondering; yes you can breastfeed on antidepressants. Here are the fact sheets on antidepressants from the Drugs in Breastfeeding Network. I would have these handy if a pharmacist or doctor questions it.)

I am so much better than I was. Still prone to down days and anxiety attacks but they few and far between. I have come a long way and will hopefully be weaning off the medication in the next few months!

Did you struggle with postnatal mental illness? Let me know your experiences in the comments!

8 thoughts on “My Experience Of Post Natal Depression

  1. It’s a shame that so many women go through this but glad that you’re getting the help you need. I couldn’t imagine not feeling instant love for my babies so it just have been really tough for you x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had post natal depression with all of my children, ultimately resulting in me being admitted to a mental health faculty desperately unwell. I admire anyone who shares their story, well done you!

    Like

  3. Sorry to read what you have been going through. I am happy to hear things are going in the right direction for you now. I have witnessed depression and I kind of know what you have been going through. Enjoy all of the fun times with your little ones. Lovely pictures of you all 🙂

    Like

  4. it sounds like you’ve had a very tough time of it – I am very pleased to hear that AD’s helped and that things have improved for you. So many women suffer in silence and don’t realise how things could be. Big hug xx looking forward to hearing more as A and C grow.

    Like

  5. Thank you for sharing your experience and for being so honest. Your bravery in sharing this will undoubtedly also help others who feel the same way. Well done for seeking help ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can’t even imagine what you had been going through but glad your sought help and whilst its not completely done with, you have sought help

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.