Turning the negatives of Alopecia into positives!

Alopecia can be a pretty devastating condition to develop. I don’t think anyone can truly appreciate how a condition that changes your appearance without your control can really affect you mentally, without it happening to you personally. After all, it’s just hair. 

Over the years, I have changed my hair drastically from the bleached blonde, pixie cut I had in my student years to the long, orange hair in my time working as a bartender. My hair has always been a massive part of my personality and self-esteem. It has changed many times, but all with my choice. I think that is the most difficult thing about alopecia. The lack of control. No one likes to feel like they are lacking control in life.

I hit a low in September and just hated what I saw in the mirror. It was around this time that I took the plunge and had my hair shaved off. I thought that when it happened I would feel sad but more than that I felt relieved. I was no longer seeing clumps of hair in bath, on my pillow and falling down my clothes. Losing my hair was harder than having none! 

Now 8 months on i’m finally having a bit of regrowth and again this terrifies me. I got so used to not having hair but at the Same time I want to see what happens! As well though is that nagging fear that it’ll grow back and fall out all over again! We’ll just have to wait and see I suppose! For now I do have some fab wigs! Thanks to the amazing Zella Rose Wigs!

Anyway I think I am done rambling. I’ve had this post half written in my drafts for about 3 months and I have just felt that I am at the right point to finish it off and post it. I am very lucky to have a child that loves me and a very supportive family around me šŸ˜˜

Thanks For reading,

Siobhan x

11 thoughts on “Turning the negatives of Alopecia into positives!

  1. Girl you look stunning with or without hair, there is no need to feel insecure or ashamed. We all have to adapt to change and accept it. I know sometimes it is not fair but I always say to myself that if there is something that I cannot control I will accept it!!!

    Like

  2. Oh wow! My heart goes out to you! I can not imagine what it would be like to lose my hair. You are absolutely beautiful, with or without hair.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  3. Wow. This post was touching. I’m so sorry you had to go through that but either way you’re still gorgeous inside and especially out! I truly admire you for being this brace to share your story. Stay blessed! Your daughter is beautiful like her mommy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

