Cloth Rockz & Cuddly Bums Custom Nappies: Meet the Makers!

As some of you may know it’s Real Nappy Week (RNW) this week! The chance for cloth bum mums to spread the word about cloth nappies and hopefully influence some change!

To kick start RNW I am happy to introduce you too my favorite work at home mums (WAHM) and custom nappy makers!

First off, we’ll meet the lady behind Cloth Rockz custom nappies!

How did you get into making real nappies?

I started my cloth journey with my son when he was 10 weeks old, as I was tired of disposables not containing the contents of his bowels (colic baby).  

I purchased some plain white Tots Bots from Tesco and I loved them, no more stained clothing.  

I then joined a couple of groups on Facebook and stumbled across Wee Notions. Of course, we had to have a couple of customs made. It then became apparent that there were several WAHM’s that made nappies and I thought “I bet I could make a few myself!” I searched for a nappy pattern and bought some supplies and made an entire stash for myself.

How did you come up with business name of “Cloth Rockz”?

I asked in one of the groups I was in for ideas for a business name. I had already tested my pattern and was ready to launch a business page. It took some deliberation and there were lots of brilliant suggestions but I went with short and catchy.

What is your favourite nappy you have created?

My favourite ever make will always be Toothless I think as nothing had ever been done like that before and the reaction to it was huge. I will never forget the elation I felt and how proud I was of myself for creating something so unique and the amazing feedback I received for it.

(I think we can all agree Toothless is amazing 😍)

How long have you been in the cloth nappy business?

I’ve been in the cloth business since my son was 1 year old. So just over 4 years now and I still love it to this day.

Can you tell us a bit more about your nappies?

I had already made a name for myself with my ruffles in the first 2 years of business, which I was very happy about but was keen to add something more to my skills as a nappy maker, that’s when the 3D Nappies began, nothing like that had been done before.

I pride myself in being unique and I am constantly driving forward thinking up the next ‘epic’ as they have been named by customers. I love my job.
I think we can all agree Sarah’s nappies are amazing! Now to meet Abbie the face behind the equally amazing Cuddly Bums nappies!

How did you get into making real nappies?

I started making nappies when my youngest daughter was around 3 months old as I wanted something a little different to the ones you could buy online.

How did you come up with the business name “Cuddly Bums”?

My other half actually came up with the name and it just stuck!

What is your favourite nappy you have created?

It’s hard to pick a favourite nappy as I love them all but if I had to pick it would be this one….


(This nappy is so high on my wishlist 😍)

How long have you been in the cloth nappy business?

I’ve been making Nappies for just under 4 years.

Can you tell us more about your nappies?

I make both AI2 Nappies and hybrids too. They are made using the Cloth Rockz osfm pattern and I also make a smaller size suitable for newborns. They all have plush outers and have custom themes/designs chosen by the customer.

These nappies are honestly some of my favourites! We have quite the collection and they are so beautiful!

You can see more of Sarah and Abbie’s work on their Facebook Pages:

Cloth Rockz Nappies

Cuddly Bums Nappies

Thanks for reading!

Siobhan x

Leave a Reply

