#12daysofparenting16 – 12 Highlights of 2016

Day 2 of the #12daysofparenting16 collaboration and I have chosen today to write about 12 Highlights of 2016.

Now 2016 has had a mixture of high and low moments for me this year and as I am feeling a tad down this evening I thought thinking about the positives of my year would make me feel better πŸ™‚

  1. Aoife’s 1st Birthday (November 2016) My baby turned 1 in November and for me this was a massive highlight of my year! Despite my reluctance to accept my squish is growing up! 
  2. Family Weddings (July & August 2016) This year we had 3 weddings in the family! The first was my cousins, the second was Luke’s brothers (at which he was also Best Man!) and the third was my Dad’s half sister!
  3. Getting Promoted (October 2016) I went back to work in August following maternity leave and ended up getting promoted in October!
  4. Baby Sister Getting into University (August 2016) I was a super proud big sister when my little sister got into University!
  5. Friends Getting Engaged (July & October 2016) This year two of my oldest and closest friends got engaged! I am very much looking forward to recieving invites to two weddings in the future!
  6. Aoife’s Many Milestones. 1st smiles, 1st words, 1st food, 1st time crawling… you get the picture πŸ™‚
  7. Becoming a Breastfeeding Peer Supporter (June 2016) In June I completed an NCT course to become a Breastfeeding Peer Supporter to support new mothers in their breastfeeding journeys!
  8. Being published in my local NCT newsletter (Autumn 2016) I was approached to feature a blog post I had written in my local NCT newsletter! Seeing my words in print really was lovely πŸ™‚
  9. Brother completing a Marathon and various other long runs for charity (October 2016) The younger of my two brothers completed various runs during the month of October raising money for a close family members charity and a cancer charity. Considering all he has been through this truly was an amazing accomplishment!
  10. Brother losing 2 stone with Slimming World! The older of my two younger brothers decided this year he wanted to lose some weight and in just a very short space of time has managed to lose over 2 stone! His sheer determination is something to be admired!
  11. Finding the Alopecia UK Facebook Group (August 2016) This year, following the birth of my daughter, I began to lose my hair. Six months later I was diagnosed with alopecia and it is still coming out thick and fast. Thankfully I discovered a group of Facebook full of people going through exactly the same as me, that could understand the torrent of emotions I was going through.
  12. Receiving my “Golden Boobies” (November 2016) I reached 1 year of breastfeeding, something I am extremely proud of!

Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

Siobhan x

Leave a Reply

