Breastfeeding & Me

Breastfeeding can be a rather taboo subject in today’s media. There is always a sense of us vs. them. Formula vs. Breastfeeding. Mum vs. Mum. This day in age the way you feed your child is completely up to you. I chose to breastfeed and I made that decision very early on in my pregnancy and it is honestly one of the best decisions I have made.

I will be honest my breastfeeding journey so far has not been a breeze, I am lucky to have not had any seriously painful illnesses associated with breastfeeding (thrush, mastitis) but I have had bleeding nipples, cracked nipples, engorged breasts, blocked ducts and oh my do they hurt sometimes! I get through this pain by knowing I am giving my daughter the best I can! I watch her grow and flourish and feel so proud knowing that I did that!

When it comes to breastfeeding it is very important to have a strong, supportive network of people around you! I am very lucky that in the early days I was insistent of the help from the hospital! I think on my second day, the infant feeding councillor sat with me for at least an hour showing me ways of latching, positioning, waking baby up (she was very sleepy!) and I could not be more thankful for that. I had the support of my partner the entire time, particularly in the first few weeks as I was adjusting myself to the massive responsibility and I had the support of family members that had breastfed! I asked a lot of questions (still do sometimes!). Thanks to all of this I trust my body to make the best it can and nourish my baby completely!

I personally would always encourage a mother to breastfeed, it really is the most natural thing in the world (back in the day they didn’t have premade formula!) and it saves so much money! The average tin of formula costs around £10, and last around 5-7 days (I don’t personally know this, but from what I have seen have made my own assumptions correct me if I am wrong!) so in my  18 weeks of breastfeeding I have saved £180 and that doesn’t include not having to buy all the paraphernalia that goes along with it! I don’t have to worry whether I have enough room in the changing bag for bottles on a day out (honestly I don’t think I could fit anymore in my bag sometime!) and I don’t have to get out of bed in the middle of the night (a definite bonus in my eyes).

As for the us vs. them, breastfeeders vs. formula feeders arguments I have to say I have a mixture of friends that formula and breastfeed and it has never caused any issues, I still love and respect them as friends and parents! Bringing a new baby into this world is terrifying and difficult enough as it is, there is no room for pitting against each other!

Thank you for taking the time to read!

Siobhan x

image

 

 

 

